15 comments on “Review – Priklyucheniya Sherloka Kholmsa I Doktora Vatsona Episodes 1 and 2

  1. Good Lord, difbrook!!! Is this you giving a glowing review to something that incorporates your much hated ‘Speckled Band’? It must be stellar.I am intrigued.

  2. Pingback: Sherlock: A Study in Pink (2010) and Holmes on TV | British Television Drama

  3. Hello from Russia 🙂

    It’s an excellent review!

    Can I translate your review of Livanov & Solomin series into Russian and post in my LJ-blog?

    alek-morse.livejournal.com

    It’s pitty that Western audience didn’t see another Russian Victorian TV films based on R.L.Stevenson’s stories about Prince Florizel. The both series – Holmes and Florizel – were screened at one film studio (Lenfilm studio, in Leningrad, now Petersburg) and in 1979. The both film are wonderful!

    Alexander S.

  4. Dear Alexander,

    It would be my honour and privilege. Thank you – please do go ahead! I’m delighted you enjoyed the review. It’s taken a long time for me to get to see these and I’m so pleased that they turned to be as terrific as they are.

    Now – I hope that I use the right phrase here – Большое спасибо ,

    Walt

    • To your remarkable review, I can to add some facts:

      At the moment of filming of first episodes, Vasily Livanov was 44 (although, he looked some younger, I think), and Vitaly Solomin was 37 old.

      The crew was filming every separated film (as a rule, it’s two episodes) of this Sherlock Holmes TV series as the final, not planning the sequel. About it, you may read more detail in director’s article. Five years ago, I have translated Maslennikov’s article into English (in my LJ) – /my early translation is not perfect, I know/

      http://alek-morse.livejournal.com/3028.html

      written & published in 1985

      Can we hope on the next review of Livanov & Solomin series? It would be very interesting 🙂

      If I read right the profile of your blog, you are a librarian. I have the list of some publications about Livanov & Solomin series in UK papers (in 1980s), but I have almost no the article/notes themselves. It would be great to read them!

      Knowing how little info about this series in UK, I can clarify some points/facts regarding filming, actors, producing, locations etc.

      Your phrase is absolute right 🙂

  5. I’d be glad to try and find those articles for you, Alexander. Please feel free to pass on the details you have and I’ll see what I can do. Thank you for the additional info, also – I’ll try to post reviews of the next episodes as and when I watfch them.

    • I decided to offer for you most complete list of newspaper publications in UK that I have now — perhaps, you’re interested them too — some of these notes I have:

      “The Case of the Soviet Film Crew,” The Morning Star [London] (July 31, 1979). illus.
      Holmes and Watson discuss the making, by Soviet Lenfilms Studios, of a five-part TV movie, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.

      “Comrade Holmes,” Daily Telegraph [London] (August 20, 1979).
      Another announcement concerning the new Holmes films made by Lenfilms Studios in Leningrad. The first is entitled A Study in Scarlet; the second, Holmes’s Last Case. “The great detective is to Russians one of the best-know characters in foreign literature.”

      The Times (February 11, 1983)
      Producer Igor Maslennikov is planning his fourth and fifth Holmes films. A short piece.

      Steeples, Joe. “Strange Case of a Soviet Sherlock,” Daily Mail (February 1982). illus.
      An interview with Vassily Livanov, the star of seven 80-minute specials that Soviet television is busy trying to sell to the world at the Monte Carlo television festival. The stories filmed so far include Stud (Etude in Purple), Spec, and Houn. To date there have been no big takers outside the Iron Curtain countries.

      Denis Blewett. “The most mysterious case of Sherlock Holmes in Russia” The Daily Mail (April 29, 1983).
      Review of Soviet Sherlock Holmes series. (I have that)

      “Missing evidence” The Times (September 4, 1984) (I have that)

      Walker, Martin. “Vassily Holmes”, The Guardian (August 17, 1987)
      Martin Walker’s Russia. An article about the actor became “the Sherlock Holmes of Soviet TV, one of the most successful series ever screened here”. (I have that — http://alek-morse.livejournal.com/9452.html )

      Also it’s interesting what Peter Haining wrote in his book “The Television Sherlock Holmes” about Livanov & Solomin series.

      Alexander S. 🙂

  6. First of all, thank you for amazing review!
    I’m love this film since childhood and impressed by you kindly word about it.
    About “bastard” – i, of course, can’t remember film word-by-word, but i done quick check and not notice what Holmes use excessive language in russian. In famous scene with fire poker (first film, around 50:00) Holmes actually say “Нет, действительно скотина. Ворвался в дом, наследил, испортил хорошую вещь” – translated as something like “No, hi is really a animal/brute. Broke into house, left a trail (of dirt), ruined a good thing”. (Sorry for my awful english).
    “Скотина” have two meaning 1) domestic animal, livestock 2)rude, harsh, brute men
    Sometimes translated as Beast, but in russian Beast (Чудовище) is more crude epithet.
    Please, if it not difficult, can you point when Holmes use expressive words? It will be funny to check what it say in original.
    BTW, “swears like a trooper” have almost direct equivalent in russian “swear like a cobbler” 🙂

  7. Alex – thank you so much for this reply – that makes things a great deal clearer. Very kind of you to take the time to comment. Alexander – I’m honoured that you’ve taken the time to translate my little review for your readers. Thank you very much. I haven’t forgotten that I promised to hunt for those articles for you. I will get round to it, as soon as I get the chance. I apologise if the following makes no sense, but… Большое спасибо.

  8. Always a pleasure to meet a Sherlockian 🙂

    Superbly written review of the series. I love Sir Vasily Livanov’s interpretation of Holmes. Vitaly Solomin is great as Watson as well.

    Cheers!

  9. Hey, thanks, you’ve found the right word for it, BLOSSOM is what their friendship does. I’m also a big fan of this series, And though I can’t write or speak as good, eloquent and delicate English as you, I must say one thing: Holmes does not swear that badly in the Russian film. The whole film is really nicely rounded in late-Victorian spirit of candid, much simpler and lively ethics, so you will hear no rude words there from – anyone. In all Soviet films the speech of actors was intensely filtered from any swear words, it was in most cases Dickens-like, a little bit old-fashioned, not exactly real-life speech, from which ALL swear words and jargon were banned, except the mildest ones which were necessary. So Holmes in the Russian film speaks an educated language, and if he swears like a trooper, you have to thank the translator for that 🙂

Leave a Reply

