14 comments on “Richard “Kip” Carpenter 1933 – 2012

  1. RIP. ROS was one of the greatest shows, with the most perfect cast, ever created. I still get a tear in my eye at the Marion/Robin parting scene in the Greatest Enemy.

  2. It’s very rare these days that the report of a “celebrity” death will move me to tears, but this made me cry. So very very sad to hear this news. Kip, you will always live on through your incredible works. Nothing’s forgotten.

  3. I now realise how much of an effect this man had on my childhood and developing imagination. A sad loss but we are richer for having him for a while.

  4. To all of you who’ve taken the time to read this, and to those of you who’ve commented – thank you. Kip’s work was loved, and it’s a measure of the man that he’s engendered so many loving tributes. He’ll be missed. Thankfully that wonderful body of work remains, and I don’t doubt that it’ll be providing joy to each new generation who discovers it for a very long time to come.

  5. I knew Kip through his association with the Catweazle Fan Club. He was a wonderful man. A very special man, who’s genius for writing will not be surpassed. He was very knowledgable about what he was writing and he knew how to enchant children and adults alike. What is so tragic is that he was on the verge of seeing his dream of Catweazle on the big screen, alas, when it finally goes into production this year, he will not be there in person to see it. I sincerely hope that wherever he is, he WILL see it and will be around to guide the production in the right direction.
    He was much loved, rest in peace my brother in magic.

  6. Carol Barnes could not have put it better. Richard’s CV in televison writing is second to none, the list is endless, but my own personal favourite is Catweazle. My family and myself had the privelege and pleasure of meeting Kip in June 2010 at a Catweazle Convention. My eldest daughter is a Catweazle fan, and he asked her what her favourite scene was. She told him it was Catweazle in the bath, and she chatted away to him as if she had known him years. He then chatted away to my wife, after she told him, Black Beauty was her favourite programme as a girl. He also had a thoughtful, compassionate side, and told me he had written to Richard O’Sullivan, now sadly in a Bernard Delfont care home for actors, to enquire how he was. A wonderful man who will be sorley missed. My memories and photos of me and him from that day, will stay with me forever. My sypathies to his lovely wife, Annie. R.I.P.

  7. Very sad to hear from Annie the news of Kip i Have good memories of Our medievil supper when Kip wrote the chapions challenge and the weekend we had at the first “Jorvik” festival in York four Hertforshire Vikings walking through York at midnight wonderfull memories

  8. Totally agree. Robin of Sherwood is something I still watch and enjoy. It has aged well and knocks the spots off everything else before and after it. We will not see the like of Kip again. Sad, sad news.

  9. A marvellous, creative writer – us kids were so lucky growing up with Kip progs. Like you I also preferred Motley Hall to the daft (but loveable) Rentaghost. Motley was a fine ensemble character piece with a great set and (for its time) above average special effects.

    Also sad to hear that Sean Flannagan (who played stable boy Matt) has also passed away at far too young an age.

    But key, Kip’s marvellous characters still live on. Sir George Uproar is even on Twitter now! (@GeorgeUproar). UP THE UPROARS!!

  10. What kind of year has it been? (Expletive Deleted) *Horrible*. So much *death* and other awful things too. Richard Carpenter’s demise is still sad even though he was – obviously – older than, say, poor lovely Mary Tamm. Depressing. As regards Mr Carpenter’s work, Robin of Sherwood in particular was a *fine* surprisingly idiosyncratic piece, compare it with the milksoppery of the BBC’s current Merlin and the later work seems as ephemeral as an Angel’s wing.

Leave a Reply

