4 comments on “Dated a Nestene Duplicate Once. Swappable head, kept things fresh.

  1. Magnificent!!! You’ve got this completely right – not only was this a season made for you, I felt it was tailored to my specifications as well. It’s been a long time since Who felt so completely right to me, since I watched every unfolding scene gurgling with joy. But here it is – practically prfect in every way. How can season 32/6/acorn improve on this? I don’t know, but I’ll bet you it will. That Mr Moffat is a clever, clever man.

  2. What a fantastic review! You have captured many of my feelings about the show. I set out this season knowing that Moffat was a brilliant writer – you only need to have watched his previous episodes or his sitcom Coupling (highly recommended!) to know that, but unsure about Smith and Gillan. They have both completely won me over. The final “something old, something new” revelation as Amy finally remembers her “raggedy man” had me both in tears and punching the air at the same time.

    This is the first season since the show’s return where I have immediately wanted to sit down and watch the whole 13 episodes again, just to see how it beautifully the trail of breadcrumbs was scattered throughout the episodes. It is a truly magnificent piece of plotting – so complicated, and yet so simple.

    If you’re interested, I’ve just posted my own review of season 5 (or should that be series 31?) I would love to exchnage views with you. In the meantime, roll on Christmas special. I can’t wait!

    http://slouchingtowardsthatcham.wordpress.com/2010/07/02/doctor-who-season-5-review/

  3. I thought it was a smashing season! Sure, there were a few blips (Daleks, Cold Blood) that weren’t my favorite, but overall the season sure was an engaging one. I like Matt, (and coming from a hard core DT fancier too) but by the end of the “The Big Bang” I was loving him. He had so many great moments there, telling Amelia his tale “a daft old man who stole a magic box” and even managed to look a bit lonely after the wedding dance scene. River Song? Well… who knows, but she sure is an interesting character, and more than a match for the Doctor. She keeps him guessing… hard thing to do to a 907 year old Time Lord. Can’t wait to see how that plays out and how they originally met.

  4. Thank you, all – your comments are greatly appreciated! I’m still mulling over this season – currently engaged on a complete rewatch (three more to go). Usually I wait until the Christmas boxset release to do that but I just couldn’t resist. It’s even richer this time around now, watching the bits click together. Clever old Moff…

Leave a Reply

