4 comments on “You’re Scottish. Fry something

  1. Amen, word, verily and every other expression of approval I can think of. You’ve hit the nail so exactly on the head that I suspect you have a hammer in your hand. Although, I’d like to remind readers of the Doctor’s joy in switching on the fire engine’s siren – so sweet!! And then Matt manages to be effortlessly creepy when he’s just standing still and holding a little girls hand. More like this please, new production team!!!

  2. Thanks very much, HauntedBathroom! I had a blast writing this. Made me want to go and watch The Eleventh Hour again. In fact, I think I will.

  3. A great review, full of the same sense of boyish delight and excitement that Matt Smith’s tremendous new Doctor possesses in such abundance.

    The final scene, in which the Doctor is trying to persuade Amy to join him had me grinning from ear to ear. “Sorry I’m a bit late – new Tardis – very exciting. Just had a quick hope to the Moon. She’s ready for the big stuff now”. God – I love Doctor Who when it’s as magical as this.

    For the first real time since 1981, when my 7-year old self cried because my Doctor had regenerated into someone else, we have someone who could well end up as the modern-day Tom Baker. It already looks like genius casting.

    • Thank you very much, Simon. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the review – I feel more full of enthusiasm for Who right now than I think I’ve done since – yes – since Castrovalva kicked off (at 3:30 in the afternoon, yet. Odd thing for BBC Scotland to do).

      It’s great to look forward to a new series wholeheartedly, and it’s not something I’ve been able to do for quite a while. Here’s hoping we’re going from Pertwee to Tom Baker here. I’ve got a feeling we might be.

Leave a Reply

