3 comments on “Raymond

  1. No, not another death notice! Raymond Cusick had a good and long span, but it’s still feels as though we’re losing a lot of people right now. And especially one so important to the show – yes, as you say, Terry Nation conceived and wrote the Daleks, but would they have captured a nations children, and made Doctor Who a fixture, without Ray’s designs? When you think of a Dalek, what’s the first thing to come to mind? The bumps? The eye-stalk? The plunger? All Ray, and all he got for it was a standard BBC designer’s fee.

    Still, he also gave us the Voord, which I’m sure must have made him so proud, not to mention a host of other quality productions. I have very fond memories of 4.50 from Paddington, and it doesn’t surprise me in the least to know that Raymond was responsible for the design. It was a masterpiece of post-WW2 recreation, and I never even know it was him – I suppose I just assumed the BBC found all of these wonderful period locations (like a castle and a steam train) dropping into their laps. And I’m sure I’ve seen a ton of his other work, and never even noticed them, just took it in as part of the story.

    Thanks, Ray. I hope that you knew that you created a silhoutte that will terrify generations yet to come. Thank you.

  2. Amen to that, HB. Beautifully put. There’s a lot of talk flying about regarding some sort of dedication being made to him at the start of whatever form the anniversary story takes. I agree, but the simple fact that there’s an anniversary to celebrate is the best dedication I can think of. For him, and all the others who really bloody well should be here to celebrate it with us.

  3. Pingback: Designer of Dreams — Raymond Cusick → | Geekdom Nation

Leave a Reply

